SAE News SAE News POMAK - PSEKA CEH Leaders meet with Top U...


Send | Print | RSS POMAK - PSEKA '
CEH Leaders meet with Top US Policymakers on 36th Commemoration of Cyprus Invasion and Occupation

On the occasion of the 36th commemoration of Turkey’s illegal invasion and occupation of Cyprus, CEH leaders traveled to Washington, DC this week for a series of high-level meetings with key Administration officials, Senators and Members.

CEH leaders had over 30 minute, in-depth discussions with each of the Obama Administration’s most senior officials handling US policy toward Cyprus, Turkey and Greece on a daily basis: Assistant Secretary of State for European and Eurasian Affairs Phil Gordon, and Special Assistant to President Obama and National Security Council Senior Director for European Affairs, Elizabeth Sherwood Randall. As well, leaders met for over 30 minutes with the Chairman of the House Foreign Affairs Committee, Congressman Howard Berman (D-CA) and the leader on the Senate Foreign Relations Committee for Cyprus and other Hellenic and Orthodox issues, Senator Robert Menendez (D-NJ).

In addition, 20 more Members of Congress and two more Senators spent time with these leaders in the Speaker’s dining room on July 20, the actual day of the invasion. The lapel pins these leaders were wearing and handing out to US policymakers read: “Turkey: Flotilla Your Occupation Troops Off Cyprus.”

CEH leaders also met with US Chief of Protocol, Ambassador Capricia Marshall. She was presented with a PSEKA Cyprus conference award, which her schedule, at the last minute, prevented her from receiving at the annual conference in May.

CEH board members participating in these meetings included: Philip Christopher, President, PSEKA / President, Pancyprian Association of America; Andrew A. Athens, National Chairman, UHAC / Honorary President, SAE; Andy Manatos, President, National Coordinated Effort of Hellenes (CEH); Panikos Papanicolaou, Supreme President, Cyprus Federation of America; Nikos Mouyiaris, Executive Vice President, PSEKA; George Tsunis, Executive Board Member, CEH; Endy Zemenides, Founding President, Hellenic American Leadership Council; Vice President, PSEKA; George Dovellos, UHAC; Chrysa Tsakopoulos, Board Member, CEH; Zenon Christodoulou, Founding Chair, New Jersey Hellenic American Heritage Commission; Mike Manatos, Executive Director, CEH.

Source: CEH

Share |