SAE News Hellenes Abroad / Greece Johns Hopkins University pr...

Hellenes Abroad / Greece

Send | Print | RSS Hellenes Abroad / Greece '
Johns Hopkins University professor Evangelos N. Moudrianakis receives Aristeio Bodossaki

The Aristeio Bodossaki was instituted to give recognition to Greeks who have devoted their lives to science and who, by means of their exceptional, lifelong performance and significant achievements have made a distinctive contribution towards furthering their field of science. The Aristeio Bodossaki, which is accompanied by the sum of €150.000, is awarded every two years.

The Board of Trustees of the Bodossaki Foundation, at its meeting in September 2008, accepted the proposal of the International Aristeio Committee and decided to award the Bodossaki Aristeio for the year 2009 to a scientist in the field of Bio-Medicine.

The award goes to Professor Evangelos Moudrianakis for his pioneering studies on the structure of chromatin, for solving, at atomic resolution, the three-dimensional structure of the histone octamer core of the nucleosome and for computing the first three-dimensional model of the nucleosome. The discoveries of Dr. Moudrianakis’ research team have provided us with greater insights into the molecular mechanisms involved in the regulation of the genetic information encoded in the DNA.

The recipient is Professor of Biology and Biophysics at Johns Hopkins University, corresponding member of the Academy of Athens and has received numerous international awards. The fundamental contribution of Dr. Moudrianakis’ research activities has had enormous impact on the work of other scientists.

A special award ceremony will be held on Wednesday, June 17 at the University of Athens in the presence of President of the Republic Karolos Papoulias.

A one-day conference on “Macromolecular Modulators of the Genomic Potential” will take place in honor of Dr Moudrianakis at National Hellenic Research Foundation on June 16. Four leading scientists in molecular biology of the cell will address the event, Gunter Blobel (Nobel Prize in Medicine, 1999), Hamilton O. Smith (Nobel Prize in Medicine, 1978), Carol Greider (Albert Lasker Prize in Medicine, 2006) and Eric Westhof, professor of structural biology.

Source: ANA-MPA

Share |

Hellenes Abroad / Greece

Voices & visions Melbourne, 09.02.2012