SAE News Hellenes Abroad / Greece THE NATIONAL COORDINATED EF...

Hellenes Abroad / Greece

Send | Print | RSS Hellenes Abroad / Greece '
WASHINGTON D.C.17.11.2004


Greek-Americans across the country upset by the recent U.S. announcement that it will refer to FYROM as `the Republic of Macedonia have an excellent opportunity to make a difference on this issue – by getting their two Senators and their Member of Congress to sign letters, being circulated for signature in the U.S. Congress, expressing great concern to the Administration over this policy change, said CEH leaders today.

While letters and petitions sent by our community to the Administration are an important form of communication, expressions from large numbers of key Senators and Members of Congress carry much more weight and have even more influence on the actions of this Administration.

If any of your three representatives in Washington, D.C. are not on the list of signers below, please call them and strongly urge them to do so before these letters are sent on Friday, November 19. Senators and Members are in Washington, D.C. this week. You can reach their offices by calling 202-225-3121 and asking to be connected with their office, said CEH leaders.

The letter in the U.S. Senate is being circulated by Senator Paul Sarbanes (D-MD). The letter in the House of Representatives is being circulated by Congresswomen Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (R-FL) and Shelley Berkley, of the House International Relations Committee, as well as Congressman Michael Bilirakis (R-FL) and Congresswoman Carolyn Maloney (D-NY), the co-chairs of the Hellenic Caucus.

Signers of the Letter circulated for signature in the U.S. Senate by Senator Paul Sarbanes (As of 11/16/2004)

1. Senator Paul Sarbanes (D-MD)
2. Senator Barbara Boxer (D-CA)
3. Senator Richard Durbin (D-IL)
4. Senator Daniel Inouye (D-HI)
5. Senator Tim Johnson (D-SD)
6. Senator Herbert Kohl (D-WI)
7. Senator Carl Levin (D-MI)
8. Senator Barbara Mikulski (D-MD)
9. Senator Jack Reed (D-RI)
10. Senator Olympia Snowe (R-ME)

Signers of the Letter circulated for signature in the U.S. House of Representatives
(As of 11/16/2004)

1. Rep. Shelley Berkley (D-NV)
2. Rep. Mike Bilirakis (R-FL)
3. Rep. Carolyn Maloney (D-NY)
4. Rep. Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (R-FL)
5. Rep. Rob Andrews (D-NJ)
6. Rep. Rodney Frelinghuysen (R-NJ)
7. Rep. Patrick Kennedy (D-RI)
8. Rep. James Langevin (D-RI)
9. Rep. Frank Lobiondo (R-NJ)
10. Rep. Barbara Lee (D-CA)
11. Rep. Nita Lowey (D-NY)
12. Rep. Gregory Meeks (D-NY)
13. Rep. Bob Menendez (D-NJ)
14. Rep. James McGovern (D-MA)
15. Rep. Frank Pallone (D-NJ)
16. Rep. Diane Watson (D-CA)

Share |

Hellenes Abroad / Greece

Voices & visions Melbourne, 09.02.2012